CULTURA CREOLA

CULTURA CREOLA

DÉCOUVRIR LE MONDE CRÉOLE – DISCOVER THE CREOLE WORLD

Recent Posts

Accras of sweet potatoes and paprika

Accras of sweet potatoes and paprika

There are several variations of the Cod accras that are original and easy to prepare.  Today I opted for the sweet potato. What for? Because it will add to the Accras a  sweet taste, which mixes well with chili, cod and spices. I’ll let you guess […]

Chayote stired with garlic and thyme

Chayote stired with garlic and thyme

The Chayote is also called “christophine” in the French West Indies or “chouchou” in the island of Reunion. It’s a mixture between the potato and the zucchini. I present to you a version of chayote in salad, which can be accompanied very well with grilled […]

KALAWANG (green mango salad)

KALAWANG (green mango salad)

The Kalawang is a traditional dish of Guyana: it is a spicy salad made with green mangoes, especially when the season of this fruit is abundant. I am familiar with green papayas salad but not green mangoes. It’s become one of my favorite entries!  The […]

History and recipe of “tourments d’amour”

History and recipe of “tourments d’amour”

Where do the “tourments d’amour” come from and why this name? Before giving you the recipe of the “tourments d’amour”, let’s make a comeback in history about its origins. History of the “tourments d’amour”: The “tourments d’amour” comes from Terre-de-Haut, to the Saintes in Guadeloupe. […]

Coconut Jam

Coconut Jam

Coconut jam is a sweetness found in several Caribbean pastries. I especially appreciate tasting it with a spoon! Nothing better than a homemade coconut jam. The recipe is very easy to make!   Ingredients: (For a large jar of 400 to 500 g)  1 coconut 200 […]

Never throw away your papaya seeds!

Never throw away your papaya seeds!

I don’t know how many times I threw my papaya seeds once I cut it. I would never have thought to keep them, much less to eat it. The only time I’ve put them aside, it was to plant it in the garden. Recently, I […]

Fruits and vegetables

Flora’s selectionWhich is your fruit and your favorite vegetable? I would say bananas and mangoes, that can be eaten in sweet or salty meal!  Exotic vegetables and fruits are full of colours and flavours, and I love them!    There is so much fruit and […]

Cornmeal & turmeric with its red bean and coconut milk sauce

Cornmeal & turmeric with its red bean and coconut milk sauce

For the preparation of the cornmeal and turmeric 1 cup of cornmeal (coarse) 3 cups of water1 onion or 1 shallot2-3 cloves of garlicTurmeric powder, salt, pepper Put water to boil in a container. Add spices: salt, pepper and turmeric. When the water is boiling, […]

How to prepare the Bissap juice (hibiscus flower)

How to prepare the Bissap juice (hibiscus flower)

The bissap or Hibiscus flower: what is it?   Its origins Originally from India, the gooseberry or Guinea Sorrel (Hibiscus sabdariffa) is a beautiful plant close to the hibiscus and okra. In Guyana, it is called Sorrel or okra in Martinique, in Reunion Island is the “karkadé” […]

Hot and sweet pepper balls made with chickpeas and cassava flour

Hot and sweet pepper balls made with chickpeas and cassava flour

Ingredients        200g of chickpeas flour 200g of cassava flour A hot pepper A green or vegetarian chili pepper A few branches of parsley 2-3 cloves of garlic 1 onion Salt, pepper        Preparation (for 4 servings) Mix the chickpeas and […]


error: Content is protected !!

CULTURA CREOLA

CULTURA CREOLA

DÉCOUVRIR LE MONDE CRÉOLE – DISCOVER THE CREOLE WORLD

Recent Posts

Accras de patates douces et paprika

Accras de patates douces et paprika

Il existe plusieurs déclinaisons des accras à la morue qui sont originales et  faciles à préparer.  Aujourd’hui, j’ai opté pour la patate douce. Pourquoi? Parce qu’elle va rajouter aux accras un goût légèrement sucré, qui se mélange bien au piment, à la morue et aux épices. Je […]

Chayottes sautées à l’ail et au thym

Chayottes sautées à l’ail et au thym

La chayote ou chayotte est aussi appelée christophine aux Antilles Françaises ou chouchou à La Réunion. Côté texture c’est un mélange entre la pomme de terre et la courgette. Je vous présente une version chayotte en salade, qui s’accompagne très bien de viandes ou poissons grillés. Préparation : 15 […]

LE KALAWANG (salade de mangues vertes)

LE KALAWANG (salade de mangues vertes)

Le Kalawang est un plat traditionnel de la Guyane: c’est une salade épicée de mangues vertes, notamment lorsque la saison de ce fruit est abondante. Je connaissais la salade de papayes vertes mais pas celles de mangues vertes. C’est devenu l’une de mes entrées préférées! Elle accompagne […]

Histoire et recette des tourments d’amour

Histoire et recette des tourments d’amour

D’où viennent les tourments d’amour et pourquoi cette appellation ? Avant de vous donner la recette du tourment d’amour, faisons un retour dans l’histoire sur ses origines. Histoire du Tourment d’amour : Le Tourment d’Amour vient de Terre-de-Haut, aux Saintes en Guadeloupe. C’est une marque déposée à […]

La confiture de coco

La confiture de coco

La confiture de coco est une douceur qui se retrouve dans plusieurs pâtisseries antillaises: les pâtés sucrés, le gâteau Robinson, les tourments d’amour, etc. Je l’apprécie tant qu’il m’arrive de la déguster à la petite cuillère! Rien de mieux qu’une bonne confiture au coco fait […]

Ne jamais jeter les graines de papaye!

Ne jamais jeter les graines de papaye!

Je ne sais pas combien de fois j’ai jeté mes graines de papaye une fois que je le découpe. Jamais je n’aurais eu l’idée de les garder, encore moins de les manger. La seule fois où je les ai mis de côté, c’était pour les […]

Fruits et Légumes

Coup de coeur de Flora Quel est votre fruit et votre légume préféré? Moi, je dirais les bananes et les mangues, que je mange en sucré et en salé! Les fruits et légumes exotiques sont pleins de couleurs et de saveurs et j’en raffole!    Il […]

Semoule de maïs au curcuma et sa sauce d’Haricot rouge au lait de coco

Semoule de maïs au curcuma et sa sauce d’Haricot rouge au lait de coco

Pour la préparation de la semoule de maïs au Curcuma 1 tasse de semoule de maïs (gros grains)3 tasses d’eau2 cuillères à table d’huile1 gousse d’ail émincéeDu curcuma en poudre, sel, poivre Mettre l’eau  à bouillir dans un récipient. Ajouter les épices: sel, poivre et […]

Le jus de Bissap – Grosseille Pays

Le jus de Bissap – Grosseille Pays

Le bissap ou grosseille-pays: qu’est-ce que c’est?   Ses origines Originaire d’Inde, la groseille-pays ou oseille de Guinée (Hibiscus sabdariffa) est une belle plante proche de l’hibiscus et du gombo. En Guyane, on l’appelle oseille ou gombo en Martinique, à la Réunion c’est le terme […]

Bonbon Piment aux Pois Chiches et Farine de Manioc

Bonbon Piment aux Pois Chiches et Farine de Manioc

Ingrédients  200g de farine de pois Chiches 200g de farine de Manioc Un piment antillais Un piment vert ou végétarien  Quelques branches de persil 2-3 gousses d’ail 1 oignon Sel, Poivre      Préparation (pour 4-5 personnes) Mixer les farines avec un grand verre d’eau […]


error: Content is protected !!